UPDATE: Deadline extended to September 15, 2023

Announced earlier this year, the Canadian Tourism Awards, presented by the Tourism Industry Association of Canada (TIAC), recognizes the best and brightest in Canada’s tourism industry. From outstanding teams and organizations to individual luminaries who surpass all expectations, exemplifying a commitment to provide nothing short of exceptional tourism experiences from coast to coast to coast.

Among the 12 categories this year is the Travel Media Professional of the Year Award proudly presented by the Travel Media Association of Canada. Welcoming nominations until August 15, 2023, winners will be celebrated and recognized on November 22 at the Awards Gala at the Westin Ottawa Hotel. 

About the Travel Media Professional of the Year Category: 

The Canadian Travel Media Professional of the Year Award recognizes an outstanding Canadian storyteller for their commitment to excellence in storytelling and a published body of travel media work that celebrates and showcases Canada’s tourism destinations, experiences and stories.  

Submissions will be reviewed and judged based on the following criteria:

  • The nominee has published a scope of work that showcases and highlights Canadian destinations, experiences and stories in a unique, engaging manner through the use of a single or variety of communication channels in an innovative manner that includes but is not limited to print, digital, broadcast and emerging media that has been impactful and meaningful. (20%)
  • The nominee works demonstrates a commitment to telling Canadian stories with integrity, elevating Canada’s values, cultures and diversity in tourism experiences. (20%)
  • The nominee, through their body of work, demonstrates originality, and a commitment to positively enhancing awareness, appreciation an understanding of Canada’s diverse and unique tourism experiences and destinations. (20%)
  • The nominee’s work is considered to positively contribute to or enhance the tourism industry locally, regionally and/or nationally by inspiring travel, and when possible to measure, impacts desired visitor traffic, especially by championing underrepresented or emerging tourism experiences. (20%)
  • The nominee will be judged against the diversity and creativity of their overall work. (20%)

TIAC Members, Associate members and non-members are welcome to nominate a deserving individual. Nominations from among TIAC membership is waived, Associate members is $50.00 and non members is $100.00.

In 2022, among the finalists in this category, two of the three finalists were Travel Media Association of Canada members, with TMAC members 'Must Do Canada' curators, Matthew and Karla Bailey winning the Travel Media Award. The collection of finalists and winners from last year, and previous years, can be viewed here on TIAC's website.

The Canadian Tourism Awards is a national celebration of excellence for an industry that celebrates the best in Canada. Among the many categories, we are thrilled to see fellow TMAC Industry Members VIA Rail, Indigenous Tourism Industry Association of Canada, and the Culinary Tourism Alliance joining our ranks as supporters of this program. 

For more information on the Travel Media Association of Canada, membership information and our own annual awards program, please visit travelmedia.ca 

- 30 - 

Media Contact:
Donna Hatt, CAO
Travel Media Association of Canada