February 15, 2023 - Although we had a cautious start, we gratefully welcomed back the privilege of travel in 2022. With respect and integrity, TMAC Media Members embraced this opportunity, curating stories offering insights, awareness and inspiration for travel throughout Canada and internationally.

With the deadline for submissions approaching on February 20th at 11:59pm ET, we anticipated we'd receive an exciting and engaging collection of submissions - and they have been rolling in - more than 230 already received! 

Open exclusively to TMAC members, awarded in 2023 on June 17th at the TMAC Awards Gala in Sudbury, Ontario, the awards recognize excellence in travel media published in 2022. Members are invited to share their best work from 2022 - up to six (6) submissions. In addition to accolades and acknowledgement from the tourism and travel media industry, cash prizes are also awarded for 1st. 2nd and 3rd place winners.

The judging panel is being assembled and will include a collection of nine experienced and accomplished judges from a wide spectrum of mediums. They will be tasked with reviewing all submissions, scoring each against an established set of criteria. Judges will have until mid April to review and in May we'll announce the finalists, five submissions per category. 

Covering all channels of communication, this year the Awards program includes four (4) new categories, better reflecting the changing travel media landscape and our membership. 

2022 TMAC Judged Award Categories

Written Word
- Best Cultural & Historical Story
- Best Food/Drink Story
- Best Nature or Environmental / Responsible Tourism Story
- Best Outdoor Adventure, Sport or Recreation Story
- Best Spirit of Canada Story
- *NEW* Best Self-Published Travel Website (includes Blog)
- *NEW* Best Canadian Indigenous Tourism Experience Story

- Best Landscape or Evocation of Place
- Best People Photo
- *NEW* Best Photo Series

Written Word, Visual & Broadcast
- Emerging and Broadcast Media Award
- *NEW* Best Travel Book

The TMAC Awards are curated by the TMAC National Awards Committee. Reporting to the TMAC National Board of Directors, they work throughout the year to oversee the entire awards program and the judging panel, and includes:
Diane Selkirk (media), Co-Chair
Tracy Ford (industry), Co-Chair
Rhonda Krause (media)
Sabrina Pirillo (media)
Erica Hargreave (media)

TMAC members in good standing for 2023, submit for TMAC National Award - BEFORE Feb 20, 2023.
Before you prepare your submission, be sure to review the following resources carefully (and maybe even read them twice!): 

Following the close of the 'judged' awards, TMAC will announce and welcome submissions for the Membership-Voted & Chapter presented Awards. Opening in March, this will include: 

TMAC Member Voted Awards
- Volunteer of the Year Award
- Industry Member of the Year Award
- People’s Choice Award

Chapter Presented Awards
- Nathan Fong Memorial Award (TMAC BC & Yukon Chapter)
- Ann Britton Campbell Memorial Award (TMAC BC & Yukon Chapter)

You can also access all details noted above anytime under the AWARDS tab on our TMAC website, travelmedia.ca. 

OPENED: January 10, 2023
CLOSES: February 20, 2023 at 11:59 p.m. EST

For more information, contact Donna Hatt, CAO at donna@travelmedia.ca